About BAT Engineering

About BAT Engineering:
Bruce Ashmore

As Chief Designer at Lola, Ashmore was responsible for four consecutive IndyCar championships as well as the 1990 Indianapolis 500-winning car. The latter has been described as possibly the most efficient IndyCar design to date. He went on to become President of Reynard North America as Reynard captured victory in the 1995 and 1996 Indianapolis 500 and totally dominated the CART series during the time when the series experienced the most competitive engineering challenge. Ashmore went on to steer several race teams to victory as a technical director, and also continued to design race-winning cars as head of Ashmore Design.

IndyCar Championships-1990, 1991, 1992, 1993 (Lola)
Cart Championship 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001 (Reynard)
Alan Mertens

Alan Mertens was the Chief Designer and Engineer throughout all levels of European Motorsport for March. He gained many successes in both  Formula 3 and Formula 1 before he was selected to head up the design of the very successful March IndyCar series of cars, which gained four Indy pole positions and won five consecutive Indy 500’s from 1983 to 1987, and the IndyCar Championships in 1985 and 1986.

He left to form his own company, Galmer Engineering, and was again successful at the Indianapolis 500. In 1992, Merten’s design won both the Borg Warner Trophy as well as the “Louis Schwitzer Award for Innovation and Engineering/Design Excellence in the Field of Race Car Design.” Mertens has also recently concentrated on designing disaster recovery systems in the Nuclear Power industry.

Indianapolis 500 Wins 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1985, (March)  1992 (Galmer)
Cart Championships 1985, 1986 (March)

Tim Wardrop

Tim Wardrop has been involved with IndyCar and the Indy Racing League since its inception. Wardrop  developed the first two generations of the first dominant chassis in the IRL at G-Force which resulted in two poles at Indy with Arie Luyendyk and two race victories with Luyendyk and Juan Pablo Montoya in his role as their race engineer.
Wardrop still holds the record and the setup parameters for the fastest lap  ever turned at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in practice of 239.260 mph, as well setting the fastest ever single qualifying lap speed (237.298 mph) and four-lap record (236.986 mph).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s